Conkers and Happiness ~ Gatherings from Ireland #275

Waterford-Tramore Road
Waterford-Tramore Road

It only took a glance at the chestnut trees on the Waterford-Tramore road today to bring me back to the endless hours playing conkers back in the Octobers of my youth.

I know it’s easy to be nostalgic and think that those were blissful days. However, I had a rummage through some old photographs when I got home and found this one of my brother and me and I think it spells happiness. 

Do you have Octobery memories like this?

Playing conkers with Big Bro
Photo: Frank Tubridy

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Conkers and Happiness ~ Gatherings from Ireland #275”

  1. Lovely photograph Jean, though I’m not sure either of you is playing with the necessary gravitas. Serious business conkers. Isn’t it banned in schools now in case they have someone’s eye out?

  2. I am a great fan of your writing. I never miss a chance to visit your blog at least once if I have time. I loved reading your writing. Thanks for sharing. Your writings are always short and sweet and full of informative things. 🙂 Keep writing. 🙂

  3. Have no recollection of playing conkers as a child in Donegal – I wonder why? Perhaps we did not have many horsechestnut trees. However,my family (parents and younger children) emigrated to England in the 1960s – my older brother and I were already there. Then I was introduced to conker fights and people knocking the knuckles off one another. I thought of it as a very ‘British’ pastime. The parks there were full of beautiful horsechestnut trees and there were conkers in abundance. To me however, ‘Octobery things’ meant another kind of nut – hazelnuts! My father’s aunt and uncle lived about 50 miles away up a lane that was lined with hazel bushes. In October we loved to visit and gathered them in every possible container – I recall holding out my skirt like a hammock while the others loaded it up with delicious nuts. Those hazel bushes are. still there for I checked them out this year.
    Would like to agree with previous comment – beautiful writing! Don’t ever stop!

  4. Photos like that are so nice and they do spell happiness. It’s funny how a photo or a season or even the smell of the leaves can bring those memories back. This time of the year makes me think of apple picking with my brother and how we’d climb the trees and eat most of the apples before we could get them into the bucket.

Leave a Reply

