Fire and Water ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 274

It’s been a week of blissful sunsets here in Co. Waterford. Yesterday evening Garrarus Beach was surreal. As I ran into the calm sea, there was an deep sense of being at one with those powerful elements of nature ~ fire and water. The colours had me thinking of the sea in very feminine terms, clad in fine blue denim and a translucent pink blouse that only nature could produce.

We were three, a photographer, a fisherman and me ~ all appreciating the wonder that was ours through separate but shared eyes.

As I was departing to return to reality, I asked the photographer, who transpired to be a man whose work I have long admired,  if he would send me a copy of what he had captured. So, this is the image that Damien Jackson kindly sent:

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford. Photo: Damien Jackson
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford.
Photo: Damien Jackson

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Fire and Water ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 274”

  1. KWH, thanks very much for writing. Yes, I agree that Damien has captured our precious Garrarus beautifully and we certainly are fortunate to be living here surrounded by such wondrous beauty.

Leave a Reply

