Are You and Your Phone Joined at the Hip? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 272

The Back Strand, Tramore, Co. Waterford.
The Back Strand, Tramore, Co. Waterford.

I think I’ve developed an allergy to mobile phones or more specifically to feeling that I’m always within reach. It’s not that I’m hankering after old-fashioned telephone boxes, operators and Press Button A … but I just want to break free, at least some of the time,  like a kite snapping its string and sailing off into the blue.

This morning, for example, I went for a long phoneless walk on the beach here in Tramore. Half the people I met were either chatting on their phones or checking texts or emails and I recognised a former ‘me’ in these people. But there I was today with an immense sense of freedom; I didn’t even have a watch with me!

I’m wondering how on earth we have got so wrapped up in mobile phones that are supposed to be ‘cordless.’

What’s your take on all this?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Are You and Your Phone Joined at the Hip? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 272”

  1. I have a cell phone, but it’s mainly for emergency use or if I go out to meet someone, and I want to be sure we don’t miss each other. I have not developed an addiction to cell phones, but I am addicted to my computer.

  2. I think it’s pretty alarming that young people (in particular) seem unable to function without constant reference to whatever device is attached to them. This is bound to have an adverse effect on how we interact with one another. I’m determined to hold on to my basic Nokia – rarely used – as long as I can.

  3. I agree with you, Jean. It makes me so sad to see whole families “together” in a restaurant and each one is attached to their device; no one talking to nor looking at each other.

    The only reason I bring my cell is to use it as a camera! As soon as I avail myself of a nice quality camera, the cell will be left behind!

    Your pictures are beautiful, as well as your prose!

  4. Hi Jean
    It’s really sad to see people so cut off from their (often beautiful) surroundings. And no, I’m not addicted to my phone and determined not to be. That said, hubby and I find we use our mobiles more than the house phone (we’re in rural Australia) as the reception on the latter is so poor and we are considering actually getting rid of the house phone altogether. I gather it’s an increasing trend but I don’t like the feeling of being always ‘get at-able’. What do others think?

    1. Vanessa, I suspect that land lines will soon be a thing of the past, like phone boxes, as the mobiles take over. Yes, it’s the get-at-able aspect of the mobile or expectations of same that are a big issue for me too. Obviously, they are extremely useful but …..

Leave a Reply

