Safe Harbour ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 270

Very few places anchor me more than harbours and The Pier in Tramore undoubtedly evokes that sense more than any other.

Here’s how it looked yesterday evening when I stole a few minutes to go there as the sun was setting and the world was somewhere else.

Where is YOUR special anchoring place?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Safe Harbour ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 270”

  1. Beautiful pics, Jean…we enjoy going to The Cheese Factory near us. It’s about a 45 minute drive into the country and there is a pond there with geese, lots of grass and solitude. Of course, we usually buy some cheese, crackers and wine and just enjoy the scenery and beauty around us. It was also a special place for my Mother-in-law before she passed and now it’s one of ours. In southern CA, our favorite place is in the mountains where my family’s cabin evokes many wonderful memories and also on Mt. Baldy, where my hubby proposed almost 26 years ago. It’s difficult to choose only one place. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Your photos look so peaceful and exactly as if the world was somewhere else. The ocean anchors me because it’s so timeless and that makes me realize how small and silly we are. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful weekend with lots of peaceful moments like that one!

  3. I often retire to an attic between two ears. Geographic location might matter if either of my two windows are open. No matter how fast I go, or how far I travel, the attic is always there when I arrive. I really can’t escape it entirely. Sometimes I think I’ve furnished it myself, but no doubt others have had some influence on that. When it gets stale, I like to take it to where the smell of brackish water can float in on a breeze.

  4. Love those pics Jean, and that conical building intrigues. Harbours invoke a sense of safety and security and deliverance from the sea. I guess in Jersey Rozel is most people’s favourite.

Leave a Reply

