Solid as a Rock ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 262

Soladach mar carraig is the Irish for Solid as a Rock and, for me, the Irish goes a long way towards  conveying the the huge significance that rocks hold in my life and in Ireland generally.

I just have to think for a second and the names of towns, villages and townlands whose names are derived from the word carraig coming pouring forth: Carrick-on-Suir, Carigavantry, Carrickmines, Carrickmacross, Carrickfergus …..

The term Soladach mar carraig always gets me thinking of people as well as places. There are some people that  seem to epitomise dependability and who you just know will never, ever let you down, no matter what.  I touched base last week  with one of my ‘rocks’ who I hadn’t seen for a while and was met with that reassuring, warm feeling that these people engender and usually in a most casual and humble sort of way. No, it’s not charisma; it’s more about heart, wisdom and empathy.

And, of course, there are rocks, of the stone variety, that have special meaning too. Here’s a few of mine! I’d love to hear about yours?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “Solid as a Rock ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 262”

  1. Hi Jean
    Rocks, stones and boulders – you can’t beat ’em for atmosphere and focus. The anchor image on my blog is a granite boulder about 20 feet from our front door. It’s about 30 feet high and I regard it as the house ‘guardian’.

  2. Vanessa, your granite boulder is just the kind of thing I was thinking about. I’m not surprised you see it as the house ‘guardian.’ In our case, that role falls to the monkey puzzle tree!

Leave a Reply

