May I Ask Your Advice about Blog Re-Design?

It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle if it is slightly greased ( Kehlog Albran)

I’m in one of those adventurous moods and want to have a go a re-designing this blog of mine which has been on the go now since early 2011.

Before I tear into it, I would really welcome any words of advice which you could offer from your experience of embarking on such a venture.  The Do’s, The Don’ts, The Must-Do’s, The Don’t Even Attempts …..

Up to now, I’ve thought content and now I feel it’s time to think design, navigation and all the rest of it.

I’m not the most comfortable with widgets and fidgets and mega-change BUT I’m prepared to give anything a go.

So what are your hard-won words of advice and wisdom?  Anything from the simple to super-duper -build-an-engine-from -scratch most welcome!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “May I Ask Your Advice about Blog Re-Design?”

  1. In the early years of marriage, my wife would, on occasion have “…one of those adventurous moods and want to have a go…” about re-arranging the furniture. These would not be modest or remotely conservative decisions. One night, appointments kept me late, so it was dark when I came home. I presumed she might already be asleep, so I didn’t turn on a light in the front room.

    All of a sudden, a couch that normally lived over by the wall was right in the middle of the living room where anyone with as much brain as God might give a goose, would logically walk. It was as if someone had parked a large bus in the middle of the freeway–sideways.

    Well, I hit if full stride, and sailed over the top of it to crash into a small coffee table on the other side, noggin first. The sound of the collision, coupled with the impulse I felt at that moment to cry out loudly with what might at first be confused with a hymn, woke her loveliness from her repose. Rubbing her eyes, she turned on a light and saw me there spread out on the floor rubbing my head and moaning things that would not appear in the liturgy come the Sabbath.

    She concluded I must be drunk, so turned off the light and went back to bed. The next day, using all my many negotiating skills, I was able to convince her, that no matter how lovely her arrangement was, I still had to be able to navigate it. So as you feel these urges come over you, keep that in mind, please.

  2. For me, simpler is usually better. I like to be able to find the most recent posts right away and it’s nice that I can do that here. The only advice I can think of is to show your beautiful countryside a little more. You have some gorgeous photos that could be used either in a new header or as the background as long as it’s not too distracting. It’s fun to play around with all the possibilities and it’s nice that you can preview it before deciding to publish. Hope you have fun with it!

  3. Hi Jean,
    I am biased, but I would vote for visual appeal. In my blog, I chose a header which would allow me to use my own photographs. I chose four that told a little bit of what they might expect–humor, color, travel, compassion, and I included an informal self-portrait of myself holding a camera, because photography is not only a passion but a tool for telling of my stories.
    You are a storyteller too, and while I know the story and content of your blog is primary, it would be great if you could catch the eye of your audience long enough to engage their hearts and minds in your story.

    1. Naomi, I love the idea of adding more of a visual element, as Sheila has already suggested. Your blog is inspirational in that regard so thanks for your words of guidance.

  4. Blogger.com has some very nice flexible layouts, many display your photos as logos for the blog post. And, readers can choose the format they like for the technology they use. Visually attractive, easy to use and free. Also easily monetized if you want to do that as well. Many helpful widgets. Try it out and keep it if you like it. That’s the beauty of free.

  5. Hi Jean
    I use WordPress which I think has a great deal of flexibility. Yes it does require the occasional bit of head rubbing as I puzzle out a widget or an update but it’s pretty user friendly and although Blogger is good too, I think WordPress has the edge. It is also easy to add things and change the layout when you get bored.

  6. Jean, I am a bit late on this discussion, but I do agree with Naomi’s suggestion to use your beautiful photography to highlight and draw people to your writing. And Sheila’s idea to use your own photography for a header, a frame or a background.

    I am excited to see your changes!

Leave a Reply

