Guessing Games ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 260

As you may have gathered from previous posts, I’ve got a passion for beads that goes all the way back to the last century when my sister and I used to make simple necklaces and bracelets that were wildly colourful and that I perceived as precious jewels.

Well, I’ve found a brilliant Irish online bead site that is an absolute dream.  http://addiebeads.com/

Addie Beads

I was absolutely tickled the other day to find that there is a competition running on the site that harks back to my childhood. Simply guess how many beads are in the jar and the contents are yours!

The last time I entered a competition like this was when we lived on Main Street, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan.  Mulligan’s Shop, which sold more or less everything, except groceries, set up a huge Lego Castle in the window and we had to guess how many pieces were in it.

My brother was a mega Lego fan and he stole first prize. He’d never tell me the secret of his success.  I was in the most junior category and got a box of Lego ~ I suspect now that all entrants in that category got a prize but I still remember the absolute thrill of building endless walls, sheds and even houses and big bro was very generous in sharing all sorts of  fancy pieces with me.

Yes, times change but some of the simplest things are best.

Get your entries in for the bead competition quick and, if you win, promise to tell me your secret!!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Guessing Games ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 260”

  1. Jean …. firstly how kind of you to not only mention my ‘wee’ site but to like it, wow I am so chuffed. Well I too was flooded with memories! After I took the photo of the jar I sat looking at it in the editing app for ages and found myself thinking of sweet jars. Do you remember those large glass jars that stood so tall on shelves that you could never reach ? Always behind the counter. I was a sweetaholic when I was a young child and we had a tiny ancient looking sweet shop in Donnybrook. They actually had a guessing competition too but it was to guess the amount of fruit drops in a jar!! Well I visited that shop every day for weeks !!!! I did’nt win the contents but I will never forget all the wishing I did that I would win them. I definitely think my obsession with beads and anything that sparkled or twinkled began with all that staring up into beautiful colourful sweet jars and wishing and dreaming they were mine. As one addiction faded another started …I also loved lego but again for me it was all about building a pretty house, the structural element or the science of it never interested me ! So long as it looked beautiful I was happy !
    Lovely post Jean and thanks again x

  2. Jean, I think I just might have recreated that sweet shop … I have simply replaced the sweets with sparkley glass! Catherine is my very inspiring ‘big’ sister. xx

    1. Mary, believe it or not, I met her in person for the first time last night. We’ve been following each other on blogs and FB for a good while but it was great to meet her last night, especially after chatting to you here. Hope to meet you some time you’re down this way to visit ‘big’ sis!

  3. Coloured marbles. That was a short-lived obsession among many of us children in Birmingham. I think we grew out of that and into football cards.

Leave a Reply

