Do you Realise How Lucky You Are? ~Gatherings from Ireland # 259

Out for a dawn walk on Tramore  Beach on Sunday, I heard the sound of horses hooves when it seemed that there was just me and the sea.

Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford.
Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford.

A glowing couple approached and asked me if I would take a photograph of them, making sure to have the sea in the background.

They were from an inland county and this was their first time riding on the beach.

Their parting words to me were: Do you realise how lucky you are living so close to the sea? 

Yes I do,  and that’s exactly where I’m going now for a swim to celebrate the arrival of October.

I’d love to know how you plan to welcome the new month?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “Do you Realise How Lucky You Are? ~Gatherings from Ireland # 259”

  1. Just got home from a trip to France and Belgium, and have a wild month ahead of me. I’ll be hosting storytelling friends from Australia and New Zealand for two weeks, which is fun but also stressful because I have so much work to do, telling at a festival, doing preparing and rehearsing for a lot of storytelling programs for Halloween, and now that I am home, I must sink my teeth into the book I was researching in Europe. I was a little reluctant to come home and face all that, but was given such a warm welcome from my husband that I remembered how very lucky I am! Thank you for a great post and an important reminder.

    1. Naomi, thanks so much for taking the time to write and ‘Welcome Home!’
      The fact of living in such a beautiful place, by the sea, is never something I take for granted but I think we all take some of life’s fundamentals for granted a bit too easily.

      I hope October goes well for you and that ‘coming home’ is full of love, health, hope and adventure.

  2. Probably not by swimming! 🙂 Every once in a while it’s possible to swim in Oct but it might be a little too cold this year. Even with the ocean nearby, we don’t get there enough. That must have been fun hearing those horses’ hooves thunder up behind you like that. Hope you had a great swim!

    1. Hi Sheila, the swim was sheer magic. I had the beach all to myself and then when I was coming away met one of the ‘regulars’ who said ‘Was it nice? It looks so silky?’ I hadn’t put a word on it but she summed it up perfectly.

  3. Crumbs… the sea in October? You’re brave (although I do recall from my childhood growing up on the Devon coast that the sea was at it’s warmest about this time of year, you just needed to be able to wrap up warm when you got out). I miss the sea hugely. I find it so comforting and beautiful and hearing it at night always helped me to sleep better.

      1. It is a stunning place to live, needless to say you don’t appreciate it fully as a child. I ‘escaped’ as soon as I could. It’s only years later than I can understand the allure of it – now I go there on holiday with my children!

        1. That’s such an interesting perspective. No doubt your children love it! I spent some wonderful holidays there over the years and long to go back. The sea is such an amazing colour compared to anywhere else I’ve ever been.

          1. It really is beautiful. We’ve had a great time when we’ve returned and seeing places through children’s eyes always brings a fresh perspective too and makes you appreciate them all the more. My husband also loves it. He was born and bred in South London (where we now live) so he is still a big kid when it comes to the seaside!

            1. Absolutely. That’s one of the great joys of family life for me. Instead of just my view I see the world through four very different pairs of eyes. It makes each day richer.

Leave a Reply

