Support and Encouragement ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 255

“Support and encouragement are found in the most unlikely  places.”   (Raquel Cepeda)

Newtown Wood, Tramore, Co. Waterford.
Newtown Wood, Tramore, Co. Waterford.

I have been passing this scene on my daily walks in the wood for quite a few years now and it always makes me think of the many, many people who have encouraged and supported me along life’s path.

It also conjures up images of battlefields and soldiers risking their own lives to help a wounded comrade out of the line of fire.

On other days, it has me thinking about wonderful organisations like The Samaritans and Pieta House who are there to lend a helping hand when times get rough.

Where does it bring you?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “Support and Encouragement ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 255”

  1. It brings me to a special poetry group that even if I don’t get to post, I find much peace and encouragement from some of the people and poems there. And during my walks by the Bay in the mornings, I have met many whom I have encouraged, to keep going, to feel better, to enjoy the day and I have felt this same support as we meet to walk.

    1. Nancy, what interesting ‘places’ ~ poetry and walking by the Bay ~ both of which resonate hugely with me. Yes, the sharedness of even everyday encounters can be amazingly supportive, far more, I think than we often realise at the time?

Leave a Reply

