To Leonard Cohen with Love ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 250

Dear Leonard,

May I wish you a very happy birthday and tell you that I feel honoured to live in the same world as you.

Your writing is divine, your voice heart-wrenching and your energy, for someone born in 1934, an absolute inspiration.

There’s so much of your work that I admire but these words stand out for me.

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic ’til I’m gathered safely in
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love

I doubt there is anyone who doesn’t crave to be danced to the end of love wherever that may be.  And, my Irish wish for you is that you will always have the love which you both epitomise and so truly deserve.

With Love,

Jean

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

5 thoughts on “To Leonard Cohen with Love ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 250”

  1. I had the very great pleasure of that man`s company in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham last September. Okay, there were thousands of others present too. Still. It was special.:-)

Leave a Reply

