Landmarks ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 248

I reckon that every town, village and hamlet … has its own special landmark that tells you well in advance that ‘you’ve arrived.’  I’m not sure that everyone will have the same landmark for a particular place but I know that, for me, a sighting of the steeple of the Holy Cross Church in Tramore announces that I’m  nearing home.

The church stands at the top of the town and can be seen from all directions from miles around.

The Holy Cross Church, Tramore, Co. Waterford
The Holy Cross Church, Tramore, Co. Waterford

I’d love to know what your special landmark is, wherever you may happen to live?

Oh, and speaking of landmarks, I just love the website of the Irish Landmark Trust which highlights all sorts of iconic buildings in Ireland and has a listing of amazing places in which one can stay. http://www.irishlandmark.com/

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Landmarks ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 248”

  1. My landmarks are the beautiful Blackstairs Mountains – They continually bring me joy and peace – I can see them as I come back from elsewhere and I see them from my garden! These landmarks ancient and ever-changing!

  2. I am with you Jean. I see the double spires in Tramore and think ah I am home. I most especially love the view down the beach from the Sandhills. it feels like a hug that embraces me

    1. Hi Anne, thanks for writing. I find the view from the sand hills in Tramore absolutely amazing but I tend to look out to sea rather than towards the town. The hug for me is the arms of the Bay and being wrapped up all securely by the Metal Man and Brownstown. However, coming into the town it’s the steeple/s and, as you probably know there is a very clear view of the Holy Cross steeple from our kitchen window!

  3. I always enjoy the silhouette of steeples. Jean, if I were flying back home I would notice the Comox Glacier that overlooks our town like a sentinel. If it was a foggy day then it might be the smell of seaweed at low tide or odors from the local farm fields that would welcome me; either way, I love where we live. 🙂

  4. That’s a lovely view of the town Jean. I’ve always liked coming down to Cork from Dublin by train. Charleville, Mallow, Blarney, the hills to the north of the city and the long tunnel into Kent. Then walking along Lower Glanmire Road and MacCurtain Street – definitely home again 🙂

    1. Hi Roy, I was thinking about train journeys, too, when I was writing the piece. For me, the lights of Mullinavat are the first signal that Waterford is looming and then that lovely vista of the Suir as one eases into Plunkett Station.

Leave a Reply

