Feast Your Eyes ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 246

I only realised today that the act of re-vamping one’s CV is more than just a practical job. It jogs all sorts of memories and also squeezes a lifetime onto a couple of pages.

I’d been working on my CV for the early days of this week and this morning I made a mad rush out of the house to feast my eyes on the beauty of the sea.

The tide was out so the three miles of Tramore sands seemed to stretch forever and there was such a sense of living in the moment ~ cocooned between the past that is summarised on the CV and an unknown future. What bliss to be in the present in  the place that anchors me most through its familiar, but ever-changing beauty.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Feast Your Eyes ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 246”

    1. Roy, when I was down the beach yesterday there was a group of school kids obviously doing some sort of project and I was only thinking how in my day the only ‘outings’ from the classroom were 1. The Annual School Tour and 2. Classes under a chestnut tree in hot weather with one teacher who could obviously see that none of us (including her) were going to gain anything melting in the classroom. I wonder when the kids of yesterday’s outing are writing their CVs in years to come will days like yesterday be one’s they will remember?

      1. You’d hardly be allowed to take a class to the beach these days I thought – in case one drowned and the school was sued 🙂 Jean it won’t be on their CVs but it will add a positive layer to their outlook on life.

        1. Roy, I’m glad to say that there’s a real move in Ireland these days to taking the pupils out and about. I know it seems to run counter to what it is thought of as a a litigious era.
          They certainly seemed to be very interested and engaged in whatever it was they were doing. I was sorely tempted to go and ask a few questions but they were deeply engrossed. (If I’d been brought off to a beach on a school trip, I don’t think I would have been able to resist a quick dip!)

Leave a Reply

