Mixed Emotions ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 244

When I discovered this morning that Social Bridge wasn’t on the Shortlist in the ‘Personal Blog’ Category of the Irish Blog Awards for 2013, I felt a whirrr of emotion that had me back on the tennis courts of my youth.  It was like seeing my opponent hit a perfect smash at the end of a long rally on match point and knowing that the right, proper  and only thing to do was run to the net with a smile and congratulate her with a warm handshake.

So, let me congratulate all those who were Shortlisted, and especially those in the ‘Personal Blog’ Category.  You’ve worked long and hard for this and your Blogs are an absolute credit to you. http://www.blogawardsireland.com/category/short-list-2013/

Commiserations, too, to those who didn’t make the shortlist.  It’s not a nice feeling today but, let’s face it, it was an experience and hopefully one from which we will learn and from which we have made lots of new connections in Irish Blogland.

At a much broader level, I feel really proud of the quality of Irish blogging and see this Shortlist as a great way to showcase Ireland in its many dimensions to the big wide world.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Mixed Emotions ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 244”

  1. So sorry to hear you weren’t shortlisted Jean. There’s always next year, although you probably preferred not having to wait a year to be in with another chance. I still think loads of your blog, it’s part of my blogosphere now and wouldn’t want to miss you here on WordPress xxx

  2. Jean I hope you are still in with a shout for the blogpost….commiserations. Do you know something Jean, we all blog because we love it so much! I am now turning a blind eye to the whole thing and getting on with things……keep on keeping on girl, we are having such fun aren’t we:~))) Hope we meet at the Art Hand session Westy and myself are thinking of coming next time. x

  3. I’m surprised Jean. I judged 40 of the nominations and many of those were no more than mediocre. The methodology of awarding marks leaves a huge amount to be desired. I honestly wouldn’t pay too much attention to the results.

    1. Hi Roy, thanks for writing. I’m more than fine. Sitting here amazed that you all took me so seriously. Having said that, it did flash me back to those days of losing tennis matches and knowing that what mattered most to my parents was that I was a gracious loser. It’s something that I think is really important in any ‘sport’ and blogging is a sport, to me anyway.

  4. As with tennis tournaments, there`s always next year! And, by the sounds of the above comment, you are winning more followers from the longlist anyhow. So congrats! for that.

  5. I am finding these Awards things quite arbitrary, maybe all awards are. It makes me feel a little weird about them. Like Foxy says its the connecting with people is the thing…as for me and Foxy ‘performing’ well ‘sitting in the back near the door’ could be closer to the reality 🙂 anyway we may see you there!

  6. Hi Clare, thanks for writing and mega congrats to you, even if you feel ‘a little weird’ about Awards. This is one you most definitely deserve!
    I agree that the connecting is the key and even better if we three ‘localees’ get to meet at WORDS. Now, that would be something else!

  7. That’s a shame, Jean. Commiserations. I can now reveal I was a judge in the Blog Awards, though not in your category. I can vouch for the fact that the standard was very high. It’s a cliche, but cliches happen to be true! Glad to see you haven’t lost heart.

Leave a Reply

