A Sumptuous Affair ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 241

Harvest festivals fill me with a sense of joy and celebration as well as feelings of connectedness to the land, nature and the very long local, national and global tradition of  giving thanks for golden crops that have been saved.

Ireland presents as a wonderful patchwork of green and gold in September and here in Co. Waterford we are fortunate to have the blue glint of the sea, the River Suir and sparkling lakes, both low lying and high up in the mountains.

This year the Waterford Harvest Festival, which is running from September 9th-15th, has an absolutely mouth-watering agenda and a host of not-to-be-missed events.  http://www.waterfordharvestfestival.ie

If I could do only ONE thing during the whole of this year’s Festival, it would be to take one of the Slow Food Bus Tours to meet the food producers in their own places around the county.  What more could anyone ask than to travel around  Co. Waterford in all its September glory, see passionate food producers in full flow and sample their delights. I’m relishing the very thought and think I’ll go all three days ~ tomorrow, Friday and Saturday.  Best get booking!

http://www.waterfordharvestfestival.ie/programme/details/slow_food_tour3

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “A Sumptuous Affair ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 241”

  1. That does sound wonderful. I hope you get to go on the full tour. Thank you for reminding me – I always forget about the festivals around here but I’ll have to check into them this year.

Leave a Reply

