The Art of Blogging ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 238

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford. (Watercolour: Jean Tubridy, 2010)
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford.
(Watercolour: Jean Tubridy 2010)

Is it true that people are too busy to read more than a tweet length blog post?

It’s not what you see that is art, art is the gap.
( Marcel Duchamp)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

24 thoughts on “The Art of Blogging ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 238”

  1. Yes, but I’ve also heard it said, from a very reputable source, that if your content is longer, it’ll be more visible on Google, and if it’s interesting enough, readers will stick with it.

  2. There is an argument for negative space in art. There are times when playing guitar that “ghost” notes work well. There are times when brevity is both effective and appreciated. I would suggest, however, that a mere outline of the complete works of Shakespeare might leave out some things a reader could find valuable, and even want.

    Being succinct is seldom the trump card when I write. Words are the toys on my playground. Those who tire of the playground are free to go somewhere else to play. Those who enjoy are free to hang around. There is more to a book than a chapter, and more to a chapter than a paragraph. At times, I have trouble limiting a topic sentence to 140 characters.

    I’m not offering it up as a virtue, but as a description of the way things are. I’ll admit that in times passed, I’ve been accused of trying to tell people how to build a clock when all they asked was: “what time is it?”
    (other examples available upon request)

      1. “The clock’s job is to enhance any apprehensions caused by the calendar so that you can feel increasingly uneasy about being late for something…”
        ~ from “A Clock Ticks”

        “I turned onto the acceleration lane with a responsive throttle and was soon in high gear and high spirits.” ~ from “Turning Corners On Two Wheels”

        “As soon as I sat down, I formed a crook with my index finger and a coffee cup handle appeared around it from out of nowhere.” ~ from “Ridin’ With The Big Dogs”

  3. I do think that we are immersed in an environment of distraction, which has a very negative impact on our ability to think and concentrate. It seems as though we are fragmenting our minds and ability to contemplate deeply. There seems to be a preference for speed and quantity in short staccato bits over quality. Our creativity suffers in this space. Ultimately I think this experiment in digital brevity will implode on itself as people recover their senses.

    I am committed to the art of “slow media” (http://exploring-life.ca/about/slow-media-manifesto/).

    1. Roy, thanks for writing. I wonder are many readers of books sticking with ‘epic’ lengths nowadays either?
      Interesting point about a blog not being a book. I find that some are a bit like the old style serial types where you’re mad to read the next installment but they must take a huge amount of skill.

  4. I am interested in how future generations are being shaped for literature in a digital age. When I read Austen or indeed, many of the classics from the 19th and pre war 20th century, I can see that my generation approach books very differently. We are not inclined to express ourselves as succinctly as the writers did at that time. Nor do we have the concentration or time dig deeply into a book as the readership of that time did.

    I am speaking in general terms of course and in relation to what is deemed popular literature.

    My children grew up surrounded by books. But theirs is the world of the tweet, the constant flashing of a new message/text/app, accompanied by lots of background music and almost fit inducing image changes. There is too much choice about what to read/do. I wonder about the effects of all of that. I can only imagine tweets and flash fiction surviving the brain overload of all of that.

    So I suspect the literature and the general readership will evolve together to create newer forms that are acceptable for each generation.

    1. Hi RH, thanks for this thought-provoking comment. I’m inclined to think that there are book lovers in all generations. I certainly know quite a few young people who are madly into them. I shudder to think of a world in which the tweet and flash fiction dominated!

  5. I have a weekly digest of blogs that I follow. I read the headline and the opening sentence that is displayed and then look to see how many more words are to follow….. What I do next depends on the pulling power of the post title or the opening sentence. If too many words and I am not captivated I will move on. Also if I am captivated by the clever headline and there are only about 20 more words I may also move on without reading further! Those I read in full I will usually ‘like’, those that wow me will get a comment. There is an exception to all of this – any blogs featuring images of a cat or mention of a cat will not be read in full! Blogging is I think, a different type of ‘literature’ Some bloggers are very articulate ( like your goodself) , some bloggers post academic material, some are witty and so on. We know which bloggers entertain or provoke us most and we will read them regardless of the length of content. I alwasy read yours in hope of picking up some of your excellent writing skills!

    1. Hi SV, thanks for your kind words and for such an interesting insight into your blog-reading practices. Cats I can manage but the mere mention of small scurriers like mice and rats have me in shut down mode and as for Super Rats …. !!!

  6. Nice watercolour. It is a chicken and egg question about the length of blogs. It depends how the interesting the subject is to me. Generally, I prefer one or two paragraphs. However, if I found the subject interesting (for example I recently read a series of blogs on the artist Suzanne Valadon) I make an exception. In fact it was nice to have several blogs on the same theme and they were fairly lengthy.

    1. Hi Angie, good to hear from you. I’m totally with you in terms of interest in the topic and I’d have to add that my mood also plays a pretty big role in what attracts my attention.

  7. Beautiful photo, Jean, and honestly, sometimes I don’t have time to read the short stories or longer posts…I do the best I can, but with working and family, there’s not enough time in the day. As it stands, I’m always behind in reading other blogs and feel so bad about it, but it’s impossible to stay current. After blogging for 2 years now, I’ve finally accepted that fact. I wish you a lovely evening and thanks so much for all of your visits to my blog!

Leave a Reply

