Knocking on Your Door! ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 235

There was a time when I had notions about entering politics and practised my speeches to the nation using the grip of my tennis racket as a microphone.  I even studied politics for a year in Trinity College in a class that contained quite a few people who went on to enter national politics in one form or another.

In spite of all that, I never gave much thought to the politicians who came knocking on my door seeking my vote in the various elections and referenda that have taken place here in Ireland over the years.

However, that’s all changed very quickly in the last couple of weeks since I was nominated in the Irish Blog Awards 2013 in the ‘Best Post Category.’  This is the one category that is being decided by public vote and, at the moment, it’s like the election has been called, candidates selected and the campaign well and truly on.

Oddly, though, voting has been relatively slack, given that Ireland has a population of over 4 million and the election is open to the BIG WIDE WORLD with all the billions that involves.

There is a fascinating collection of Blog Posts on the Long List ~ you’d nearly be wondering how they could be so diverse!  Apathy should have no place in this contest!

One day all the don’t-knows will get in, and then where will we be? (Spike Milligan)

I’d love to see the whole thing rev up and, of course, I’d love to see votes for Social Bridge rising to the top, like the cream in the old milk bottles, with the tin caps, that used to be delivered to the door.

So take a look at the list, let your eyes float down to Social Bridge ~ Courage and Bravery ~ Gatherings from Ireland #153  and then just click Vote! 

http://www.blogawardsireland.com/category/best-blog-post-2/

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Knocking on Your Door! ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 235”

Leave a Reply

