The Most Ambiguous Word in the English Language ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 82

I’d never have believed it but the word set  is said to be the most ambiguous in the English language. I scoffed when a well-read friend made this announcement as ‘set’ to my tennis-playing mind was all about set points, straight sets, third set and hopefully being on the right side of ‘Game, Set and Match.’ But here’s where the scoffing and the poetry brought me. I’d love to know where it would bring you?

Deep Set

It’s the final set that matters
when tennis is the game.
Love counts for nothing
in a match but life is not
played on a marked court.

Can we even say that life is
played; are the starting points
and onward positions set. 
Who decides who does the 
setting or what to set?

Set tables, sunsets:
one social, one natural
coinciding perhaps
conflicting maybe;
ruled by time and space.

Ambiguities lie gaping
like the eyes of a First Year
faced with sets and intersections
or the upset of the lover
when the final set is lost.

(Jean Tubridy)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “The Most Ambiguous Word in the English Language ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 82”

  1. What a lovely way to start my morning. Thank you for your poem. I think of cement. Or how it’s important to remember that nothing is “set in stone”. Keep a jackhammer in your back pocket at all times.

Leave a Reply

