Ireland on a High

I’m a mad sports fanatic so Ireland’s dramatic win of the Six Nation’s Rugby Championship yesterday has sent me into orbit. Yes, I know it’s only a game but sporting endeavors that are characterised by courage, passion and commitment can lift the spirit of this nation, like almost nothing else. And, for me, one of the great things about Irish rugby is that the team is an all-island one, encompassing both the Republic and Northern Ireland.

Today has been a day of elation ~ a day on which the countryside itself had an added gleam. The sea was bluer than ever as I dove in for my early swim in Garrarus; and later there was this wonderful vista high up in the Comeragh Mountains with Co. Waterford stretching out beneath in what seemed like wild celebration on this heady day.

View of Co. Waterford from  the Comeragh Mountains.

View of Co. Waterford from the Comeragh Mountains.

About socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.
This entry was posted in Connections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ireland on a High

  1. I was rooting for Ireland yesterday. Glad you won it and well deserved. (P.S. I’ve amended the text on my post about Ireland too and put a shot of Waterford in!) :-)

  2. Roy McCarthy says:

    Breathtaking view from the Comeraghs Jean. As to the rugby, small margins eh? That final French pass was easy but they butchered it. Delighted that the gods smiled down on Ireland and BOD in particular.

    • socialbridge says:

      Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you, Roy! I hope you celebrate in style.
      Yeah, it was quite a match, to say the very least. Reminded me of Waterford v Cork Hurling that we watched in a snug pub in Jersey a few years back ~ that time when it took about 4 matches to separate them!

  3. Congratulations, Ireland. Excellent point about the importance of the Irish team being an all-island one.

  4. socialbridge says:

    Thanks Navigator! The all-island part is so, so important to me and lots of others too.

    • As a casual observer from across the pond, it is obvious to me how important this can be to bridging what we in Canada refer to as the “two solitudes.” (Similar historical challenge here, in some regards.)

      Best to all of Ireland.

  5. I thought of you yesterday, Jean, and even though we’re not Irish, we wore green and had corned beef and cabbage, carrots and potatoes in the crock pot for dinner. It was really good and hit the spot for a once a year meal! :) Your photo is beautiful and I can see why you have enthusiasm for rugby, even though I’m not a big sports fan myself…have a great day today!

Leave a Reply

