Which YOU do You Reveal in Your Blog?

Do you find yourself grappling with the question of  which ‘YOU’  to reveal in your blog posts or am I alone and palely loitering on this one?

Today had many, many shades to it. The weather was beautiful and I had the most divine swim in the sea under the midday sun at my precious Garrarus Beach:

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford.

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford.

There followed an exciting offer of a project relating to poetry which has set my heart on fire.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied.
(John Masefield)
 

Late in the day came the sad, sad moment, that I hesitate to mention,  when I collected the cremated ashes of my beloved Cavalier King Charles, Sophie, who died on January 11.  They are in a box of a woodland with bluebells just like Newtown Wood, where she and I walked every single day right to the very end.

Carpet of Bluebells Photo: Frank Tubridy

Carpet of Bluebells
Photo: Frank Tubridy

And this is just a glimpse of the ‘me’ that has woven her way through today.

So, which YOU do YOU reveal on your blog and which one do you hold back?

About socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Which YOU do You Reveal in Your Blog?

  1. I contemplate the me in my posts all the time. How much to reveal? How? When? I think it is when it is so palpable, as the loss of your dear Sophie, that these true pieces of ourselves pour out. It cannot be helped.

    So, so, sorry about your dear pup. I am weeks away from the one year anniversary of the loss of my Pea and it is with my every day. xo

    • socialbridge says:

      Thanks Jen. I really appreciate your empathetic words.
      It’s interesting that you think about the ‘me’ in your posts all the time. I wonder is it an inherent part of having a relatively personal blog as opposed to a more business-related one?

  2. willowdot21 says:

    This is the true and honest me crying just before I go to bed , I cry for your loss. Your beautiful dog must of meant so much to you. I envy the beauty of your world. I am intrigued by your poetry project………….. that is me now. What did I show in tonights blog the terrified me of four years ago in hospital so so confused. night night and god bless. xxx

  3. Vanessa says:

    Hi Jean – sorry not to have been able to engage for a while but my computer blew up and then we had bushfires to deal with. I am so glad you shared about Sophie’s ashes. What a great life she led and now you are honouring her memory. What a lovely place and how appropriate to ‘close the loop’ with such a beautiful knot of memory. Too often I think we don’t properly honour a passing and it’s so important. WIth the sadness comes the knowledge that even after the end she had the very best of care.

    PS – love the new beach background that I’m seeing – reminds me of the stony beaches of Sussex!

    • socialbridge says:

      Vanessa, it’s lovely to hear from you and I hope that you are recovering from the bushfires which must have been terrifying.
      Thanks for your kind words re Sophie and your wisdom about honouring passings.
      Glad you like the beach background. Sound like I should take a little trip to Sussex!!

  4. Dale says:

    I can’t help but show the real me in every post. I can’t help it; it’s my nature. (Maybe too open, sometimes?) I know that when I do share something important to me, I get great response so I guess sincerity brings us all closer.
    I always feel you are sincere, Jean!

    • socialbridge says:

      Dale, thanks for your kind words and I must say that your sincerity and passion always comes across in your posts. That line between ‘open’ and ‘too open’ is a bit of a tightrope and I agree that one’s nature comes into play along with a lot of other factors.

Leave a Reply

